Hoarders: Invasion of The Evil Cable Clowns Edition

An amateur clown
"We're here to help!" Image via Wikipedia

Strange few days indeed. With the usual thoughtfulness of the management of Shitzville Apartments, a photocopy of a note written in marker appeared on everyone’s doors saying that new cable lines would be installed starting that day. With no other explanation at hand, Mom called the manager. Yes. Starting that day. No, no free cable (fuck!), just re-wiring. No, won’t have to move anything (you’ve never been in our apartment have you?) Oh, you put in a work order a couple of weeks ago and maintenance never came? I’ll put another one in (gee, that’s big of you).

We learn from our friendly neighborhood informant that the cable company would have installed the lines, but the management wouldn’t let them. Instead they got Clowns-R-Us to install it cheaper.


Soon we also learn from one of the Clowns-R-Us men that yes, the next day, they will invade the living room and bedrooms of everyone. Said clown drilled a hole in our ceiling at the side nearest the door, and dangled three thick cable cords down into our apartment suitable for braiding. One might say, “Oh that’s going to be so tacky dangling those cords down by the ceiling,” but considering the area commonly used for putting one’s dining table instead has many overflowing boxes of junk about shoulder-high, I don’t think we have much of a foot to stand on with the Tacky Police.

Hoarder
Alternative interior design; or, how to remain single and singular


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My bedroom is chaos. My desktop computer is usable, my bed with the 1970s (vintage!) mattress is sleepable, the first couple of drawers on my chest are get-attable, but other than that: Screwed! My doll collection is on the walls and wherever else the packages have landed, boxes and boxes of books everywhere. This ain’t gonna cut it, so I know I must cut some of the books loose not vital to my own reading, collecting, or casual ebaying.

hoarding dolls
Corner of the author's bedroom.

collyer brothers
The coveted Collyer Brothers' Housekeeping Seal of Approval

 

This is probably what is going to stop me from becoming famous on reality TV. I sort of hoard, but I have yet to attain the Collyer Brothers’ Housekeeping Seal of Approval. I just don’t hoard anything weird (well, that’s subjective) or gross. I have no urge to keep milk cartons (though I believe I can see their logic in doing so -“Hey, I can use this plastic milk carton for Kool-Aid, and when I die, you can use it to keep my ashes in it instead of an urn!”). I sure as hell ain’t keeping milk past the expiration date. Though I’m fat as all get out, I’m a very picky eater. As for the nastiness factor, I can’t stand roaches and we seldom have them, but if I see one, it puts me off eating in the house the rest of the day. Fun fact though: I feel guilty if I kill one, though I’m perfectly OK with their murder by the exterminator or Mom. Our home is dusty, smokey, and now and then you get a scent of eau d’ chat because Oscar has “territory issues.” But, hey, the kitchen and bathroom are clean.

hoarders logo
Almost famous.

I’ve actually seen places that were the epitome nasty. Once I went in someone’s trailer and saw so many roaches, hundreds! Crawling everywhere, not scattering in a way that made me think they were aware of their victory over the pitiful souls living there. It was an obsessive-compulsive’s worst nightmare. Shit, it was anyone’s worst nightmare…anyone, that is, but the people who lived there.

At this very apartment complex I’ve seen a couple of apartments that had blackened counters and bathrooms once the people moved. Also, at our old house, the guy who bought it really doesn’t give a flip. Got an extra fridge? It’ll look great in your front yard among other debris and old cars is his motto. I’m sure our old neighbors hate us for letting Asshat buy our home for 20k paid in installments that often were late. What upsets me  is the plants he deliberately killed. Azaleas and hydrangeas deliberately cut down and killed -I know they didn’t feel it logically, but mentally it upsets me ( I’m not even much of a tree-hugger or a gardener). I hope my mom’s tiger lilies and daffodils still come up just to spite him. I’mthough sure he murdered my dead grandfather’s rose bush, though heaven knows what horror is in the backyard now since he made a makeshift a tarp and wooden board privacy fence over the wired fence as soon as he moved in. At least our Sanford and Son Syndrome was mainly inside. Tsk tsk!

Days go by. No Clowns-R-Us return to finish. If they don’t come back soon, I am going to braid that damn cable! Various panels are off the hall’s ceiling. One fascinates my mom and I in particular because it appears to go all the way through the floor to the second story hall. W.T.F? Neither did the clowns appear to approach their task too tenderly, for paint and wood chips had come off too.

There are two possible explanations for Clowns-R-Us’ disappearance. Someone else started playing “Send in the Clowns” somewhere.

Or…

Too many people started cursing out the clowns, and knowing some of the folks living here, probably threatening to rip off their slap happy noses. Not all of us are docile sheep like my mother and I, though I sometimes wonder if we acted more like we were raised in a barn, we would get on a bit better in life.

Seriously, who wants clowns drilling a hole big enough for 3 thick cords to drop down, with a little extra room too for something to crawl in. The intention, then is to run said thick cords under the carpet into the living room and bedrooms. It would be enough to throw Mother Teresa into a rage. Talk about taking one’s lumps in a literal sense!

But ah to getting rid of stuff! So many books I found that did not have my life blood within them! I wouldn’t have parted with them though if they went to the trash. I give away just fine…throw away, not so much. Some went to the laundry room on a table where people throw their freebies and Watchtowers. Others I put by the dumpster (not in, that’s vital). I also put a porcelain doll on top of one box of books and someone took the books, but threw the doll away. Someone would have wanted her. Affrontedand wished I’d kept her. She was down ar the very bottom of the dumpster, the yuckiest part. There, in dumpster diver hell, I would only fetch out a real baby, or something REALLY awesome.

Pre-Publishing Update:

They came! Around 8-ish in the morning…too bad for me I had gone to bed at 4am. Half-asleep, I stumbled to the door. “Is it too early?” asked the head maintenance man, who accompanied a clown.

Yeah, come back in 6 hours. “No, just let me warn my mother.” Mom was bathing. Luckily I was semi-presentable. My hair was aiming for the sky and I had to hide my nightguard in my pocket (I grind my teeth), but I was dressed!

It doesn’t even look as bad as our informant led us to believe. The day before the maintenance man came and I have new outlets because half of them had stopped working. We have a new garbage disposal and the leaky faucets leak a little bit less. Shitzville wasn’t built in a day. The man who did it is the only one of the three who really does much. As he worked, he got a call telling him to fix someone’s closet rack who had been waiting three weeks.

The maintenance man told us it would have cost 45k to knock out sheet rock and install the cable if the cable company had done it. I can understand why Slumlord Millionaire wouldn’t want to pay that high of a price and it would be tons more disruptive. It isn’t nearly as bad as our informant made us believe.

ghetto cord
Ghetto cable:s not so bad.

I think I almost have my Christmas post ready…just in time for the March rush, too.

All of this was supposed to be a short update and intro to this poem. The best layed plans…


Life of a Compulsive Collector

 

I

There is a picture of me,

not yet age three.

Basket over my head.

How cute!

Look closer.

Toys surround me.

A slight hint of chaos

in a picture’s confines.

 

II

I have always liked things.

Small girl at yard sales,

accompanying Mama to the flea.

Grab bags filled with trinkets,

grocery store vending machines.

Nothing that cost too much,

second-hand toys and plastic rings.

 

III

Granddad pushing me in a stroller.

We go to the schoolhouse when class is over.

The middle school kids are careless.

Pencils to find and seek,

an Easter egg hunt so to speak.

All passed our inspection –

From nubs up to their erasers,

to chew marked, or almost new.

Bathed in the bathroom sink,

sharpened by pocket knife too.

 

IV

I grow older.

Mom has a menagerie of plants,

six fish tanks,

and a better job.

Barbies, Lady Lovely Locks, and She-Ra

kept court with

Jem (the doll that looked more like a Him).

At around age ten,

I make a plan:

I’ll always love toys

no matter how old I am.

At 33 I’ve kept that promise,

unfortunately with an addendum or two.

Books ancient to relatively new,

Cassette tapes I bought in my teens.

Boxes of stuff to sell and keep.

33 years to fill a hole in me,

hard to put away or set free.




28 thoughts on “Hoarders: Invasion of The Evil Cable Clowns Edition

  1. My storage closet is still too full of power cords and odd-sized tape recordings to walk in, so I’m in no position to be judgmental. That said, the clutter does creep me out a tiny bit AND the ghetto cable looks worse than it had to. It wouldn’t have cost el cheapo landlord any more to use beige or white co-ax cable, and you could staple it along the corner so it won’t show. LOVED the poetry, though.

    You produce so much good writing, Lisa. Your work amazes me.

    Like

    • I may sound glib about it, but read between the lines. Only my closest friends know about it, because I am ashamed. I don’t like the idea of being creepy,but I am working on it!

      It’s my hope that someone else with this problem will see this and feel better. Shows like Hoarders just exploit the people they help. Circus freaks really, but it is fun to watch, not gonna lie.

      I figure i can be truthful here, plus my confessing compulsion dares me. I”m not a dirty person. I bathe, the kitchen is clean and so is our bathroom, so is our living room sorta.
      I am working on it, and virtually anything in my home I’d give to someone if they wanted it.
      Nothing rots here and
      i only have 3 (very well kept)cats.

      Did I say I’m working on it? i am! Martha Stewart Living one day! Either that, or becoming a crazy old recluse who dies alone. 😦

      Thanks Mikey! I read your latest Basket. I’m gonna have to show it, plus need to comment. Been under the weather the last 24 hours.

      Like

  2. I don’t think I would be as tolerant. Three cables hanging from my ceiling…that’s a swing right there!!!!

    Like

  3. so after all that, do you have cable? did they get you hooked up with all that fine programming those insidious cables hanging from the ceiling will bring to your set? I’m with the one up there… could’ve done the job a tad neater…but hey, you can paint the cables white…

    my little RV… all 300 sqft of it… looks similar to the photos you post… different items of course, but so much stuff! i prefer to think of it as clutter…. not hoarding… ha! we are clean people too… just so much stuff… and i hate getting rid of it… might need it… i have most of my things in a storage unit and i visitation rights… so i periodically go visit my stuff, sit on my couch, thumb through some books….

    maybe we should start a new show called “cluttered” ?

    Like

    • We have tons of cable…but no cable.

      Thanks for making me feel better about my clutter.

      Today I watched the first episode of hoarders. The food hoarder made me want to puke, almost did. I gagged. Made me feel better also.
      But the junk guy from the show reminded me of myself a little. I am fine giving stuff away, but hate to just throw it away. Wow they were nasty.
      “Cluttered” works for me!

      Like

    • I do have some vintage ones too, but not shown in photo. My favorites were the poseable ones made from PVC. I always liked everything in miniature.

      Thanks!

      Like

  4. love your blog, your poetry is impressive!
    Make a contribution to us today, the collection is to be closed within 24 hours.
    Thanks, we value your support. xxx

    welcome back to poets rally.
    you rock.

    Like

  5. You are not a hoarder. At least not in the way that it’s depicted on the show. You wouldn’t write about it, let alone post pics of your room if you were. Trust me, my Grandmother was a hoarder, when she died they had to take a wrecking ball to her house because they couldn’t even get to the basement.

    I think collecting is pretty common for people with OCD. I know that when I was a kid I would stash things under my bed (stupid things, like rocks and stuff) just because I didn’t want to run out. To this day, my friends laugh at me because I will buy six of the exact same t-shirt, just in case one gets dirty. (I really need to learn how to use a washing machine…;))

    Hilarious as always, Lisa.

    Like

  6. That must’ve been awful for your family. I’m so sorry.

    Wow,you have OCD? You have it so together. You’re my idol. I wish I was as awesome as you.
    I figured you might have had your share unhappy things. The best humorists are the ones who rise above. You inspire me everyday.

    I had a teacher once who wore the same outfit everyday. He had multiples of the same outfit. I always suspected him to have OCD, but he was always happy. Another thing that tipped me off is how he underlined every word he read with one of the pens he kept in his shirt pocket. Every word.
    I can’t say anything though because I like having a pointer when I read a book.
    You and Scott really are doppelgangers. Awesome!

    Thank you, thank you for sharing about yourself. I always wonder what you will think of what I write, and what do you know, one of my other heroes (Mikey) really likes your writing. He’s a very gentle soul with impeccable tastes.

    And I’m rambling, but you’re awesome! All of y’all are awesome!

    Like

  7. I’m thrilled (though not surprised in the least) to see that your musings are just as hilarious and beautifully strewn with verbiage as they’ve always been.

    My three great aunts (who I’ll have to write about soon) all lived together in one ancient house. They loved the TV but would never get cable. Why? They didn’t want a ‘goddamn hole the wall, letting in all the weather’ and they didn’t want ‘some goddamn no account prodding around.’

    Like

    • They sound adorable, like part of a sitcom. You should write about everything. I bet your life has been a hell of a ride. I’m so glad you’re back. I really wanted to know what you thought.
      Bless you!

      Like

Leave a comment